A Test

I am not impressed by money, social status, job title, or what car you drive. I am impressed by the way you treat other living beings, both animals and humans.

-Rose Winfold, found on Maria’s Mixing Bowl.

Norman is a good judge of character. Just bring a ball and you will pass the test, even if you are an axe murderer.

This was actually part of the interview process I used over the years when interviewing for a position that had significant interaction with the public.  I had a few accomplices at local eateries and would call ahead and let them know I was on the way with someone.  Part of the plan was to have them intentionally make a small error on the order, just to see how the applicant responded.  If I was really on my game, I would either have one of our dogs at the office or arrange for someone to be coincidentally walking their dog right about the same time we would be getting near the restaurant.

The process gave me important feedback as to how the individual interacts, responds and communicates to adversity and to get a dog’s opinion on their trustworthiness because dogs know and they don’t lie. If a dog indicates that it doesn’t trust you, then I’m not too far behind.

While not perfect science, it did serve me well over the years.

About Ray V.

Living between Aiken & Nashville, TN, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in dogs, Quotes, Wisdom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Test

  1. Hs! We had an “office dog” and I always paid close attention to how my interviewees related to the dog, you can learn so much! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.