The Journey That Was 2017, Pt. 1

The Journey that was 2017, Part 1

Much time has been spent debating whether or not I would ever publicly tell this story and if I did, could I make it reasonably interesting? Several of you have asked about what happened and I have held off telling the story until now.

Thanksgiving morning, I came across an article on LinkedIn that would support the second half of the journey.   th-1

The article, by Jack Kelly, is “Where are all the Older People at Work? Oh, yea, they’ve been fired. The new Discrimination that we don’t talk about.”

The article will be discussed more in Part 2.

I have spent seven months of this year in search of what I would hopefully be doing for the rest of my life. What I learned, however, is that the world of working has changed drastically and not necessarily for the better.

Before I can share about the last 7 months, I need to build the foundation leading up to my coming back to SC.  I could write about these experiences for hours and while cathartic,  no one really cares all that much. So, here is a brief review.

*****

   After selling our businesses in late 2011, I stayed on and worked as a consultant/managing director for one of my former businesses for an initial period of five years. I grew bored and began poking around and identified what I thought would be a perfect place for me to ply my trade and contribute at a high level.

Prior to accepting the position, the owner of the company was candid with the challenges he faced and was encouraged by the fact that I had demonstrated success in those areas. We discussed my comprehensive 30-60-90 day plan and I felt comfortable that this was going to be a good fit. I received a nice offer and moved my wife and dogs to what seemed like a different world from Aiken.

It wasn’t 60 minutes into my first day that I realized we may have made a mistake. The owner, providing no real onboarding/orientation, expected me to solve all the problems in the first week while insisting, however, that I use the exact same methods that he and others had tried in the past. There were also several dynamic personalities (mine included) and personal agendas involved and things went downhill from the first day. We were both quickly frustrated and had some frank discussions about my tenure as the first months passed by which, unfortunately, was the only time we ever really talked.

During that period, I was contacted by a nationally known consultant who wanted to know if I’d be interested in helping him turn around a distressed, family business in another state. We had worked together several times over the years and I was comfortable with his evaluation of the business. “Affirmative” was my answer and we began discussing the situation. After a few quick visits, I believed that this family really valued my experience and observations of their needs while the consultant stated I was a perfect fit for this situation.

After only six months in Michigan, I gave my notice and moved on, relocating my wife, dogs, and belongings to Ohio.

Moving, unfortunately, from the proverbial frying pan to a boiling cauldron of evil.

I am going to withhold any further comments due to some pending litigation, but after only two months, we were headed back to South Carolina to re-group.

Having been successful in several business endeavors, I was quite shaken by the two experiences, but I was not prepared for what was still to come, looking for a new career at age 57.

To be continued. . .

 

 

 

About Ray V.

Living between Aiken & Nashville, TN, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Changes, General Information, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Journey That Was 2017, Pt. 1

  1. Thanks for sharing this. It’s not easy for us older workers to be out there, and I’ve had my share of problems like this. Working world has changed so much to the bad. Looking forward to the next part.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Osyth says:

    Ooof. Not dandy. I suspect there are many (including me) who can relate to parts of your story but I will reserve real commentary until after part 2. I hope you are in one piece. That is what really matters.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I imagine this was quite difficult for you to share Ray, so thank you. I look forward to reading your continuation. I have a feeling it might be a little more positive. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ray, thank you so much for sharing this. Must have been a very difficult time for you and your family. It’s good to be able to recount it from a position of strength and stability. Looking forward to part 2.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Debra says:

    I’m really glad you’re willing to share what is obviously a very distressing period of your life…and that of your family. It is indeed a changing world and my husband, and several of our friends in our age group, have amassed some wild stories in the last few years. We were retirement age, so the consequences weren’t dire, yet troubling. I will stay tuned!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m fully absorbed. And waiting for Part 2

    Like

  7. Benjie Hughes says:

    Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. So glad you shared Ray! I just saw a post on FB that, after reading your post, was a God thing. This is what it said, “So far you have survived 100% of your worst days. This too shall pass.” I grinned when I read it but then I thought how very true it really was. When we are in the midst of crap…it seems to take forever but eventually we either crawl out of it or are pulled out of it. I am so grateful we never stay there. Will be waiting for part 2!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. janowrite says:

    I echo the comments above and am on tenterhooks to hear the “rest of the story.” It has been a difficult year for many of us. It is always easy to post the happy news but life’s challenges, not so much. Sending empathy for what you experienced.

    Like

  10. Pingback: The Journey That Was 2017, Pt. 2 | Mitigating Chaos

  11. My chest grew tight reading this. I’m sorry for what you’ve been through and I will be reading the ‘rest of the story’.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. maidsdayoff says:

    Sadly, your story (or a similar version of it) is not unique these days.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. shelie27 says:

    Congratulations Ray, on your new career!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.